NIBA Governing Council

NIBA is governed by a Governing Council of seven (7) members, consisting of, President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and three (3) other Council members. Terms of office for each member of the Governing Council are two (2) years. Terms are staggered, so that there are four positions up for election in even years, and three positions up for election in odd years.


Sarah Roubidoux Lawson
(Iowa of Kansas and Nebraska)
Schwabe, Williamson & Wyatt
1420 5th Ave, Suite 3400
Seattle, WA  98101
P: (206) 407-1507
E: slawson(at)



Holly Sprague
Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
39015 172nd Ave SE
Auburn, WA  98092
P: (253) 876-3160
E: holly.sprague(at)


Dylan Hedden-Nicely
(Cherokee Nation)
Associate Professor
Director, Native American Law Program
University of Idaho, College of Law
875 Perimeter Drive, MS 2321
Moscow, ID 83843
P: (208) 885-0860
E. dhedden(at)

At-Large Members

Tommy Miller
P.O. Box 135
Elmer City, WA 99124
P: (206) 370-8092
E: tommy(at)

Anthony Jones
(Port Gamble S’Klallam)
Tulalip Tribes
6406 Marine Dr
Tulalip, WA  98271-9775
P: (360) 716-4533
E: ajones(at)

Charisse Arce
(Dena’ina Athabascan, Aleut)
U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Alaska
222 West 7th Avenue, Room 253, #9
Anchorage, AK 99513
P: (907)271-5071
E: charisse.arce(at)

Martha Klein Izenson (2020)
Native American Program, Legal Aid Services of Oregon (NAPOLS)
4531 SE Belmont Avenue, Suite 201
Portland, OR 97215
P: 971-703-7107
E: m.klein.izenson(at)